advice

Recovery

Now, I don’t want to make this post a tear jerker, but over the past week I have had so many lovely people telling me how much I have changed since I started therapy and medication. Those helping hands have made it so much easier to put into practice what I have learnt so I thought I would give you some tips on your road to recovery, whatever it may be that you are recovering from!

  1. Fake it till you make it– I cannot stress enough how much this has helped me, pretending to be happy, confident, relaxed will slowly but surely make you believe that you are happy, confident and relaxed. Until this weekend just gone,  I had never been and had no intentions of going to town, but I did, I pretended I was 100% okay with it and do you know what? I was!
  2. Allow yourself to have feelings– it is okay to be upset, nervous, stressed or angry. And that doesn’t mean that you are back at square one, some times life just hits you in the face and you need to let yourself act how you really feel. Faking being happy is great (as said above) but don’t just bottle up your feelings entirely, sometimes you need to let it all out, and it is only human.
  3. Do good deeds– I don’t know about you but I feel so happy when other people are happy, and especially if I am the cause of that happiness. Doing good for others does good for yourself.
  4. Be a little selfish sometimes– I struggle with this one because I like to be nice and helpful 24/7, even if I am the one worse off. But sometimes you have to take into account how you feel and do what is best for you, because after all you are the most important person in your life.
  5. Balance– there needs to be a good balance between work, rest and play. Some people are okay with working 5, 6 days a week, but for me, 3 or 4 is a struggle. The main thing is that I am working enough for my balance, I need more rest than others and that is okay. Don’t beat yourself up about it.
  6. Don’t compare yourself to others– other people aren’t going through the same things that you are, you are doing the best that you can and that IS good enough. You don’t need to match what other people are doing, do what is best for you.
  7. Plan– if I know I’m feeling a bit sluggish, and especially if I have things to do, I will plan my day. Whether that be stupidly detailed or just very vague I will give myself a check list of what needs doing and do it. If I don’t, that’s okay too.
  8. Remember the little things– you can always pull something positive out of your day, whether that be that you ate a really nice strawberry or you won the lottery, always finish your day on a good note.
  9. Spend time with people who love you– they care about you and want to see you happy, so when you spend time with them they will lift your spirits which will in turn lift theirs.
  10. It’s okay to ask for help– whether your hours or months into recovery, it’s okay to ask for help. Don’t struggle in silence just because you don’t want to disturb anyone, that is what they are there for.

I hope that this post helped someone out there, you, yes you, are amazing- goodbye for now little buns!

youtube

Standard

Leave a Reply

